Trump’s Travel And Immigration – 2017 Executive Orders – Plus July 19, 2017 Update

Ban On U.S. Entry from Seven Muslim-Majority Nations 


On January 27, 2017, under the pretense of stemming terrorism within the U.S., President Trump, by Executive Order, banned entry into the U.S. of travelers from the following Muslim dominated nations : Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. The Presidents Executive Order was then stayed by a Federal District Court and a Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) relating to the travel ban issued. The TRO had the effect of lifting the Travel Ban temporarily. This was then followed by a February 4th 2017 Federal Appellate Court emergency ruling affirming the Districts Court’s Constitutional right to issue a TRO and agreed to hear the matter which will then, depending on the ruling, make its way on to the Supreme Court for a final adjudication.  Read Original Travel Ban Order.

February 24, 2017 – Trump Modifies Executive Order –  Limitis Order To Six States – Federal District Courts Block as Unconstitutional. Order less restrictive but still met with judicial challenges. See Modified Order.

It must be noted that none of the Terrorist Attacks on U.S. soil were perpetrated by travelers from any of the seven nations listed on the Presidents Executive Travel Ban Order.

Seven-Nation Suspension

The Presidents order suspends all immigration for citizens of seven Muslim-dominated nations for 90 days with Syria being among the most significantly effected. 

Syria – Visas

The presidential order directs the State Department to stop issuing visas to Syrian nationals and stops the processing of Syrian refugees immediately.

Green Card Holders – Residency Status Dispositive

State Departments declares it will work on a “case-by-case” basis with Green Card holders, unless it is determined the entry represents is a serious threat to public safety and welfare. Refining this declaration, the State Department residency shall be a “dispositive factor” in determining admission. With respect to the seven target Muslim-Dominated nations, those who hold permanent U.S. residency “green cards” will not be barred from re-entering the U.S.

Status of Dual Citizens – Additional Scrutiny and Vetting

Dual citizens who are nationals of one of the seven countries and a country that’s not on the list will be subject to additional security screenings.

Refuges – Four-Month Suspension

The President issued a four-month suspension of the American refugee program. In this time, Homeland Security will review the existing vetting process before refugees are allowed entry.

The President reduced the maximum number of refugees it will accept by 50%. The order also calls for a review into suspending Visas from 38 other countries.

July 19th 2017 Trump Alert

The Supreme Court on July 19, 2017  let stand a lower court opinion that exempted grandparents and other relatives from Trump’s travel ban.Supreme Court Justices Samuel Alito, Clarence Thomas and Trump’s nomination Neil Gorsuch, stated they would have allowed the travel ban to remain in effect as it applies to grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins, brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law.The  order was part of a continuing order from the high courts June 2017 order that the travel ban could not go into effect for those people with a “bona fide connection” to a person or entity in the United States.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *