Three Common Types Of Asbestosis And The Organs They Target

There are three types of asbestos. Even minimal exposure to asbestos can result in a person contracting an asbestos-related disease. The medical evidence has increasingly demonstrated that working with or around asbestos causes irreparable lung damage and cancer. Asbestos is a deadly class-one carcinogen. This means that all types of asbestos cause cancer.

There Types Of Asbestos:

Chrysotile. Also known as white asbestos. Almost all Chrysotile was produced in Canada. It comes from a serpentine rock, which means its fibers are curled.

Amosite. Also known as brown asbestos. Amosite comes from Africa. Brown asbestos is known for its long, jagged, needle-like fibers, which can lodge in the lungs if inhaled.

Crocidolite. Also known as blue asbestos, is an amphibole rock that comes from Africa and Australia. Most experts consider blue asbestos to be the most lethal type of asbestos.

Organs That Asbestos Targets:

Asbestos mostly targets the lung, esophagus, and colon. Asbestos is composed of microscopic fibers that are so small they remain airborne for long periods of time and rapidly pass into the body, unhindered by the metabolic respiratory defenses, such as coughing and sneezing, the body normally employs to ward off toxic substances.

Once exposed to and infected by asbestos it can take up to forty years before the body shows any symptoms. For example, people who worked installing asbestos as insulation and fire retardant throughout the 1950s are now developing cancer and other asbestos-caused respiratory diseases.

More Legal  Information On Asbestos

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *